On Monday 14th October, The Hallam Senior College Sports Academy held its annual Sports Awards Evening in the Great Space.

Students and staff were joined by representatives of various sporting bodies and celebrated what has been another outstanding year for the program and Hallam Senior College.

The evening recognised the substantial achievements of Hallam’s student- athletes, the hard working members of staff and the other valuable supporters of the Academy.

The special guest for the night was Gold medalist Paralympic swimmer Sam Bramham, who delighted guests by sharing some experiences from his childhood and insight into what makes a successful athlete. His number one piece of advice to all budding sports stars was to “Never lose focus of your goals and remember to soak up the atmosphere”.

A thank you to all attending students, parents and special guests for their support on the night and a special thank you to the Hallam Senior College VET Hospitality class for their fantastic catering efforts, that made the evening a standout.

Well Done to James Harmes and Rachael Hunt for receiving the prestigious Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year and congratulations to all students who received the following sporting accolades for 2013.  

Sportsperson of the Year Award

For Commitment & Performance (Male & Female)
James Harmes and Rachael Hunt

School Sport Victoria
Outstanding Achievement Award: Andrew Lawless

Best & Fairest Awards
Touch Football
Touch Football Perpetual Plate – Male: Keenan Pessimino
The ‘ Ali Tuai Perpetual Plate’ – Female Temu Nganuku

Football (Soccer)

Male Footballer of the Year: Sergen Ayciek
Female Footballer of the Year: Vanessa Tordicello
Coaches Awards – Senior Boys: Joshua Cartes
Coaches Awards – Senior Girls: Basira Mozafari
Coaches Awards – Intermediate Boys: Nicholas Tsalazidis

Rugby League

The ‘Melbourne Storm Development’ Cup – Best and Fairest: Robert Aratangi

The ‘Victorian Rugby League Cup’ Best and Fairest – Intermediate Male: Eddie Tuilotolava
Coaches Award – Senior: Zac Patch

Coaches Award – Intermediate: Komisi Aiava


Cricketer of the Year – Male: Nick McPherson
Cricketer of the Year – Female: Rachael Hunt


Dandenong Rangers Trophy for Best and Fairest – Male: Sheldon Tyler
Dandenong Rangers Trophy for Best and Fairest – Female: Stacey Woodfield
Hallam Senior College Development Cup for Best and Fairest – Intermediate Male: Matt Darcy
Hallam Senior College Development Cup for Best and Fairest – Intermediate Female: Jamie Cotter
Coaches Award – Senior Boys: Matthew Hayden
Coaches Award – Senior Girls: Zinzi Mkhize
Coaches Award- Intermediate Boys: Zac Milon

Australian Rules Football

The ‘Darren Flanigan’ Cup for Best and Fairest – Male: Jack Soroczynski
Best and Fairest – Female: Karly Tapner
The ‘Tom Gillies Award’ for Best and Fairest – Intermediate Male: Caleb Millman
Coaches Awards – Senior Boys: Matt Dean
Coaches Awards – Senior Girls: Laila Husen
Coaches Awards – Intermediate Boys: Cosi Anagnostou