Our Senior Boys Cricket team is now the Southern Zone Champions after a comfortable win against Leongatha Secondary College at their school oval last Friday.

This means the boys will be in the state finals in October representing the southern Zone alongside our Senior girls team. Something i think most schools would only dream of having.

Despite the fact that the cricket season finished before the school holidays, all the boys turned up on the day ready to perform. We batted first scoring a modest total of 6 – 172 from our designated 35 overs. Once again Josh Amsterdam with 76 runs and Arryn Sippos with 60 lead the way. Expecting a long afternoon in the field the boys attacked from the onset and this resulted in some quick wickets thanks to an inspirational spell of fast bowling from Luke Cody who finished with the figures of 7 wickets for only 8 runs. Luke Hill also contributed with 3 wickets for 8 runs and in no time at all Leongatha were dismissed for a total of 31 runs.

All the boys should be congratulated for their efforts. We have beaten the following teams along the way:

  • Pakenham SC – Hallam 7/226 ( J Amsterdam 102 n.o, A Sippos 40) defeated Pakenham 99 ( M Anderson 5-27)
  • Lyndhusrt SC – Lyndhurst 7/147 lost to Hallam 5/148 (A Sippos 50, L Cody 37)
  • McKinnon SC – Hallam 111 defeated McKinnon 105. GREAT TEAM EFFORT
  • Hampton Park SC – Hallam 5/193  (J Amsterdam 69, A Sippos 68)defeated HP 113 (S Scanlon 3/5, J Amsterdam 3/7)
  • Leongatha SC – Hallam 6/172 (J Amsterdam 76, A Sippos 60) defeated Leongatha 31 (L Cody 7/8, L Hill 3/8)

The players that have played along the way are:
Prince Singh (C), Arryn Sippos (VC), Josh Amsterdam, Travis Davis, Luke Cody, Stewart Scanlon, Lachlan McIver, Lionel Benoit, Luke Hill, Mitch Anderson, Mitch Woolgar, Lachlan Moss, Yoa Yoa, Luke Bull, Matt Bernado.