On Wednesday 14th October, Hallam Sports Academy held its annual Sports awards evening to recognize the success and achievements of the student-athletes in the Hallam Senior College Sports Academy.

Students and staff were joined by representatives of various sporting bodies and celebrated what has been another outstanding year for the program and Hallam Senior College. The evening recognized the substantial achievements of Hallam’s student- athletes, the hard working members of staff and the other valuable supporters of the Academy. The night was made even more successful by the in house catering of Hallam’s VET Hospitality students who demonstrated their outstanding skills and cooking talents to all the guests before the event. Well done to Angelo Leaupepe and Ebony Wroe for receiving the prestigious Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year and congratulations to all students who received the following sporting accolades for 2015.  


Sportsperson of the Year Award

For Commitment & Performance (Male & Female):
Awarded to students for displaying excellent leadership skills both on and off the field. The recipient of this award have also shown a willingness to promote the ideals of what the college believes to be a good sportsperson; fair and honest play, teamwork, participation and encouragement. The award winners are also said to possess a high level of skill in their chosen field as well as a commitment to achieve a balance between sport and academia.

Shortlisted Nominees for Sportsman of the year 2015: Kurt Mutimer, Matt D’Arcy, Angelo Leaupepe

Shortlisted Nominees for Sportswomen of the year 2015: Basira Mozafari, Tiffany Brodie, Ebony Wroe

Sportsman of the Year Recipient: Angelo Leaupepe

Sportswomen of the Year Recipient: Ebony Wroe


Football (Soccer)

Male Footballer of the Year: Harry Webber
Female Footballer of the Year: Marina Markis
Intermediate Footballer of the Year: Ryan Maokhamphiou
Coaches Awards – Senior Boys: Frankie La Bella
Coaches Awards – Senior Girls: Basira Mozafari

Coaches Awards – Intermediate Boys: Sebastian Vamben

Rugby League

The ‘Melbourne Storm Development’ Cup – Best and Fairest: Jake Johan
The ‘Victorian Rugby League Cup’ Best and Fairest – Intermediate Male: Chase Aporo
Coaches Award – Senior: Febrick Addi
Coaches Award – Intermediate: Walid Juma


Cricketer of the Year – Female: Sherridan Murphy


Dandenong Rangers Trophy for Best and Fairest – Male: Matt D’Arcy
Dandenong Rangers Trophy for Best and Fairest – Female: Alyssa Weston
Hallam Senior College Development Cup for Best and Fairest – Intermediate Male: Michael Whittle
Hallam Senior College Development Cup for Best and Fairest – Intermediate Female: Jordanne Dyer
Coaches Award – Senior Boys: Joshua Willuweit
Coaches Award – Senior Girls: Courtney Gal
Coaches Award- Intermediate Boys: Lachlan Willuweit
Coaches Award- Intermediate Girls: Brittany Bauman

Australian Rules Football

The ‘Darren Flanigan’ Cup for Best and Fairest – Male: Kyle O’Sullivan
Best and Fairest – Female: Taylah Clayton
The ‘Tom Gillies Award’ for Best and Fairest – Intermediate Male: Joel Sarlo
Coaches Awards – Senior Boys: Bradley Homfray
Coaches Awards – Senior Girls: Samara Hazelden
Coaches Awards – Intermediate Boys: Jayden Lay


Most Valuable Player- Senior Girls: Taylah Lamont
Most Valuable Payer- Intermediate Girls: Chloe Humphrey
Coaches Awards- Senior Girls: Mia Vickers
Coaches Award: Intermediate Girls: Catalina Vezzani

Diamond Sports

Special Performance- The Jenny Holliday Diamond Sports Award: Ebony Wroe
Coaches Award- Softball: Montanna Mitchell
Coaches Award- Baseball: Max Chew