The GIO Country Cup Final, saw MacKillop Catholic College from Warnervale playing against Hallam Senior College from Victoria. It was the first time a Victorian school has been part of the CRL Country Cup and for Hallam to make the final in their debut year was a great achievement from all involved.

The start of the game saw Hallam Senior College start with a bang running in two early tries with hooker James Brooks crashing over from close range and then Tokorima Metua crossing for a try 2mins later after some great lead up work from five-eight Zac Patch and back-row partner Angelo Leaupepe to take a 10-0 lead after only 10mins and it looked like the team from Victoria were going to amass a big score-line against their Country opponents.

However MacKillop Catholic College opened their scoring in the 15th minute through their lock and Most Trusted Player Adam Keighran brushing off the defence to race 20m to score. MacKillop were in again only 3 minutes later with dummy half Joshua Doyle supporting on the inside off a line break from centre Bailey Shiach-Wise which gave MacKillop a 12-10 lead.

The momentum started to swing towards MacKillop and it looked like the 12 hour bus trip for the Melbourne team was starting to take its toll and with three minutes before half time MacKillop were in again through centre Kye Martin from a break by lock Adam Keighran.

MacKillop were leading 18-10 at halftime and opened the scoring 7minutes into the second half with Kye Martin grabbing his second try

Hallam were not giving up with second rower Angelo Leaupepe scoring a well deserved try and putting his team back in the game with eighteen minutes remaining.

With thirteen minutes remaining MacKillop were able to extend their lead through winger Jacob Murray and it was going to be hard for Hallam Senior College to claw their way back from a 28-16 deficit.

The last ten minutes saw Hallam through everything they had left in the tank at MacKillop but the boys from Warnervale were able to hold on and win 28-16.


This game will be replayed on Fox Sports this Saturday 9th August on Fox Sports 1 at 6:30am.